All About Me… Lottie’s World

Life is for living… and for blogging

Strangely enough… this is not the first time I have ever written a blog. When I was in Year 12 at school, my “progressive” Media Studies teacher required we all do our homework on a blog. We hated it! Seeing your teacher and classmates as your only site traffic was embarrassing to say the least.

However, now that I am older, I have decided to start a blog for me. Documenting my life, my goals, my experiences and my dreams. Yet, dear reader, I do not believe we can ever have a proper relationship unless you know all about me and the way I live. That way we can learn and grow together.

So, about me. I am 22 years old, and I live in Auckland, New Zealand. Auckland, unfortunately, is the 5th most expensive city in the world. The average price for a 3 bedroom house is $800,000! This makes being a young person trying to get onto the property ladder… challenging, to say the least. Therefore I am flatting, living in a house with 4 other people (soon to be 5); Tina, Irene, Blake and my wonderful boyfriend Duncan. The flat we live in is great, it is in a lovely location, close to bus routes, it has a garden and 5 bedrooms. It is clean, warm and relatively new. We are lucky.

You will hear me mention Duncan a lot… he is my world and my rock. We met through his sister, who went to high school with me. In brief, he is a gym junkie, video game playing, sci-fi nerd with a heart of gold. I love him completely, and waking up next to him everyday is one of life’s pleasures.

I am a student at the University of Auckland. It is the only New Zealand University to be ranked in the world top 100. I started studying here at age 18. I did a 3 year Bachelor of Arts Degree, majoring in Art History and English. I then studied Post Graduate Honours in Museum Studies for one year. While I was doing Museum Studies I worked at the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Heritage New Zealand. Although I found these jobs fun, Museum studies wasn’t as rewarding and stimulating as I had hoped. About half way through this year I had a total “what am I going to do with my life” crisis. I decided to apply to do a Graduate Diploma in Secondary Education, to become a High School teacher. I was accepted and I start in January!! It has been a real roller coaster to say the least… but I have finally figured out what I want to do with my life.

You may ask… what are my hobbies?

I myself am super interested in healthy eating, and going to the gym. I train at Les Mills, and have so far dropped 3 dress sizes!!! I intend to keep working hard – you will likely hear about my workouts, my diets and my achievements in the following months.

I am also obsessed with tea. I love trying and buying new teas, and I must have at least 3 cups a day to be functional! My current favourites are PG Tips, a British Tea that you have with milk, T2 Vanilla Sencha, a Japanese tea that is sweet and aromatic, and Paris by Harney and Sons, which is one of the most delicious black teas you can buy.

Duncan once told me he thinks I was French in another life… I definitely think this is true as I am a complete Francophile. I am obsessed with all things French. French clothes, French food, French wine, French women and their effortless style… I wish to emulate that French lifestyle…

One of my real passions is literature. I will try and include recommendations and book reviews in my blogs each week. I am very interested in Art, being an Art History major… but that is more of a selected taste.

I also hope to write reviews about the places I go and the things I do in this fantastic city I call home.

Thank you for coming here my dear reader.. I hope we will get to know each other well, and I hope you enjoy my blog…

Life is for living… and for blogging!!

Leave a Reply

